View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:43 am






Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Can you control all four motors 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Can you control all four motors
Is it possible to control all four motors with two controls making them all do something different?


Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:54 pm
Profile
Professor

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 200
Post Re: Can you control all four motors
Yes. My team's robot has two motor controllers, a two motor drive system and two other motors used to lift arms.

_________________
Jeff McBride
Benson Robotics Club


Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:12 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: Can you control all four motors
So your saying you bought another motor controller unit to have two more motors hooked up? or did you just program this can you send me the setup? Because from what I understand you can have four motors hooked up but there are only two ports so you cant have four motors doing four different things two motors will be doing the same thing at all times is this correct?


Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Profile
Professor

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 200
Post Re: Can you control all four motors
We purchased a second motor controller. We have two motor controllers and one servo controller daisy chained on sensor port 1. Each motor controller has two motor ports. We have four 12V motors, two on each controller. It is important to use the Motor and Sensor setup wizard to let RobotC now exactly how you have your robot wired.

It is possible to attach more than one motor to a single motor port on a motor controller but you would not be able to control them separately. That is typically done for a four motor / four wheel drive robot with tank style steering.

_________________
Jeff McBride
Benson Robotics Club


Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:45 pm
Profile
Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:58 pm
Posts: 79
Post Re: Can you control all four motors
If you need help with the code, feel free to paste it here and we can check it out. But in order to have 2 DC motors operate separately from the other 2, you will have to daisy chain another motor controller to the electronic bed.
:programmer:


Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:07 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.