View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:58 am






Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
RobotC IO on host computer? 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 7:23 pm
Posts: 2
Post RobotC IO on host computer?
Hey I'm just wondering if I could use RobotC to store information on my computer. I know that I cannot read/write files on the cortex, but can I read/write files on the host computer using RobotC?

Any response would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.


Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:38 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 556
Post Re: RobotC IO on host computer?
What type of information exactly do you wish to store on the computer? You can write data that is collected by a robot (sensor values, variable data, etc) to the Debug Stream, which can then be copied and pasted into another file (such as a text document, spreadsheet, etc). If using the spreadsheet method, you will need to make sure that you format the debug stream correctly; you can find more information on how to do this in the link above (there is a tutorial that was written by Dexter Industries that is also worth a good look, which is also linked to at the top of the wiki page).

_________________
Check out our Blog! And our Facebook page!
Need help? Take a look at our Wiki and our Forums.

I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my code now,
So fix it, maybe?
~ Carly Rae Jepsen parody


Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:23 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 7:23 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: RobotC IO on host computer?
I wanted to have an automatic way to store the information from the robot's sensor values, variable data, etc. onto a file on my computer so that an external program could then interpret these values. I know I could copy and paste the values from the debug stream, but I am going to be running a large array of tests, and so copying and pasting from the debug stream and manually creating a new file would be quite cumbersome.

Is it possible to read/write data on the host computer? I tried using iostream, fstream, and stdio, but they all don't work so i'm assuming not, but is there any sort of workaround that I could do besides manually copying and pasting?
Thanks


Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:59 am
Profile
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:24 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Olympia, WA
Post Re: RobotC IO on host computer?
You could use RobotC to create a file (.txt?) which you can access later using built-in RobotC functions.
http://www.robotc.net/wiki/NXT_Functions_File_Access

EDIT: Never mind, that's an NXT link :P

_________________
FTC Team 6424, the 'Oly Cow - Chief programmer.
FRC Team 4450, Olympia Robotics Federation (ORF).

and also quadrotors. Quadrotors!


Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:58 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: RobotC IO on host computer?
The example on (http://www.robotc.net/wiki/NXT_Function ... cess#Close) is for the NXT. Is it possible to have similar I/O for the VEX Cortex?


Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:01 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.