View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:08 pm






Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
RobotC Hiding Parts of Code 
Author Message
Expert

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:15 am
Posts: 181
Post RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
Hey,

I'm having a sort of weird problem in RobotC 3.54: when my code gets really long (width-wise, not necessarily length-wise), parts of it are invisible. It still feels like it's there (I can click to specific parts of it, and the scroll bar is the right size to still reach where the code would end were I able to see it), and it executes just fine; I just can't see it.

Although it's not exact or always the same, the text starts being hidden after scrolling to the right about 3/2 of my screen (1920 pixels wide).

Any idea what this might be and how I can prevent it without splitting my code onto new lines?

Thanks,
- Leon

EDIT: gremmer and speling


Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:47 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 610
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
I attempted to replicate this issue and was able to in a way. By copying the text of a comment over and over again, there was a point there the ROBOTC IDE turned some of the text invisible; it was still there, but needed to be clicked on to be made visible again. However, this occurred after 272 individual words + spaces, and I'm not sure if your code approached that length or not. Would you be able to post the code here using the [code] tags for us to take a look at? I want to test the exact code you are using to see if I can replicate the issue.

Thank you in advance!

_________________
Check out our Blog! And our Facebook page!
Need help? Take a look at our Wiki and our Forums.

I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my code now,
So fix it, maybe?
~ Carly Rae Jepsen parody


Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:12 pm
Profile
Expert

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:15 am
Posts: 181
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
Hey,

Thanks for the reply! The whole code is pretty long and irrelevant, but the exact line that's not displaying all the way is this:
Code:
lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - i - 2] = sqrt(pow(lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 1)], 2) + pow(jointLengths[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 2)], 2) - 2 * lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 1)] * jointLengths[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 2)] * cosDegrees(angle)); //calculate maximum reach using law of cosines
I can't see anything past this:
Code:
lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - i - 2] = sqrt(pow(lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 1)], 2) + pow(jointLengths[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 2)], 2) - 2 * lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 1)]
I do know the rest of the code is still there, and it's functional; it's just being displayed as if the space bar had been hit a number of times after where the visible code is truncated.

I've also had this problem in other places, like in filling big arrays with data generated on my computer. Once those get past about the same point, they become invisible too.

Thanks for your time,
- Leon

PS: I guess this could also be solved using word wrap. Is that planned to come to RobotC?

_________________
leonoverweel.com


Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:41 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 610
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
Word wrap is already implemented in ROBOTC, in a sense. Since ROBOTC ignores whitespace (including newline spaces), you can essentially break down the code into separate lines:

Code:
   
Code:
lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - i - 2] = sqrt(pow(lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2
- (i + 1)], 2) + pow(jointLengths[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 2)], 2) - 2 * lengthLimits[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2
- (i + 1)] * jointLengths[sizeof(jointLengths) / 2 - (i + 2)] * cosDegrees(angle)); //calculate maximum reach using law of cosines


This should allow you to use the code as written without having to worry about the issue you ran into.

_________________
Check out our Blog! And our Facebook page!
Need help? Take a look at our Wiki and our Forums.

I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my code now,
So fix it, maybe?
~ Carly Rae Jepsen parody


Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:05 am
Profile
Expert

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:15 am
Posts: 181
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
Okay, I could do that. What about the cutting off issue though?

_________________
leonoverweel.com


Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:14 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 610
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
This is actually the first report we've had of this issue; since it is such a unique bug (the tested line of code had 272 characters (!), which is a rare occurrence) and there is already a simple workaround, we will add it to the bug list but it won't be the highest priority item on the list :)

_________________
Check out our Blog! And our Facebook page!
Need help? Take a look at our Wiki and our Forums.

I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here's my code now,
So fix it, maybe?
~ Carly Rae Jepsen parody


Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:04 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:19 pm
Posts: 496
Post Re: RobotC Hiding Parts of Code
Is it possibly related to this problem form a while back? http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic. ... 00&p=11367

_________________
sudo rm -rf /


Sat Mar 30, 2013 8:54 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.