View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:35 pm






Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Multiplexing protoboard 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Multiplexing protoboard
We're trying to use our protoboard in a multiplexer, and reading from the protoboard works fine, but we can't write to it. When we compile, it says the paramaters don't match for the write function. I looked at the api and I see that there is only overloaded versions of the read functions for multiplexing but not for writing. Is there any way to write to it through the multiplexer?


Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:30 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:57 am
Posts: 31
Post Re: Multiplexing protoboard
You can't use the sensor multiplexer with any sensor that requires being written to, due to the way that the multiplexer is designed. If i understand correctly you are basically using the all 4 communcation channels on the sensor port as inputs now so you can't use them as outputs. It is much better to use an smux on your other sensor ports or if you must use one, have one protoboard specifically for inputs and use the smux for any protoboards you are only writing to, if possible

We have decided (for our FTC bot) to use S1 for motor controllers, S2 w/ an SMUX with 1 gyroscope, 1 accelerometer, and 2 light sensors, S3 with 4 ultrasound sensors on an SMUX, and S4 with 1 protoboard.

_________________
Karan Hiremath
FTC Team 110- MFS Foxes
Co-Captain
Head Programmer
Builder
Electrical
Service Coordinator


Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:08 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:30 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Multiplexing protoboard
We're already using 2 multiplexers and a protoboard, but we want more ports so we're trying to multiplex the protoboard so we'd have 3 multiplexers. My question was whether it's possible to write to the protoboard through the multiplexer even though there is no driver written for it


Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:15 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3155
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Multiplexing protoboard
It is not possible. If it were, I would've made functions for it in the driver. The SMUX is a read-only device as far as the sensors attached to it are concerned.

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:38 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.