View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:15 pm

Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Shaft Encorder and PID program 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:27 pm
Posts: 3
Post Shaft Encorder and PID program
Is it possible to do a PID program with Shaft Encoders and a motor? If yes, please show how. Thank you very much

Mon Jun 24, 2013 1:12 pm
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:24 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Olympia, WA
Post Re: Shaft Encorder and PID program
Of course! You can use a PID controller on anything :D
Basically, your "set point" will be an encoder value you are trying to get to, and you will manipulate the power level to get there. Depending on how far you want to move (your kP, kI, and kD), set your motor(s) to a higher/lower power level.

FTC Team 6424, the 'Oly Cow - Chief programmer.
FRC Team 4450, Olympia Robotics Federation (ORF).

and also quadrotors. Quadrotors!

Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:23 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 2 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.