ROBOTC.net forums
http://www.robotc.net/forums/

RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical
http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=10915
Page 1 of 2

Author:  kinnama [ Tue Apr 14, 2015 3:10 pm ]
Post subject:  RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

RobotC 4.30 Graphical is acting strange for my students. For many students they put a value into a move forward box or a waitUntil box and the value does not change. If they save the program and then open it back up they can then re enter the value and it will save and download properly to the VEX IQ robots.

Below is a video that I took today of the errors.
https://youtu.be/HOPHZg_2Pj8

https://youtu.be/HOPHZg_2Pj8

Update April 16. Could this be a problem with our network? We are saving to the schools shared drives. I may have students try saving to a flash drive or the C drive on the lap tops.
Any advice would be helpful.


Thank you
Alan Kinnaman

Author:  kinnama [ Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Here is one more example video.

https://youtu.be/TK8rqMIJQ9M

Alan

Author:  tannoo [ Sat Apr 18, 2015 8:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

EV3 version
I'm having the same problem but right from a freash install on Windows 8.1. I've re-installed running as admin and still the same issue. And, I'm installed on a local machine. So, there is no network mumbo jumbo involved.

This is my first time using RobotC and would love to get going in it... this is not looking good.

Author:  tannoo [ Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

I just tried backing down to 4.29 that I found here on the forums. Nope. Still the same issue. When it starts screwing up now just after the first download. Any changes don't take and the display gets all messed up. Even deleting lines leaves boxes from the previous lines. Also, I now have to download the program twice to get the brick to take it.
I have tried every compatibility option at my disposal: win95, win98, winxp sp2, winxp sp3, vista, vista sp1, vista sp2, win7, disabling display scaling, running as admin. Nothing. Even tried running the compatibility troubleshooter (doesn't help).
I've gone back to 4.30 and still the exact same mess. I've submitted a support ticket already and no responce so far.

is this issue really just the 2 of us? I cannot find any other instances of this on the forum.

OP, have you found a resolution yet?

Author:  kinnama [ Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

I have had this issue since December, on my Dell laptop. when I was working with RobotC Graphical. For myself, I just learned to save every minute or two and close and reopen. However for students this is a big flaw in RobotC. It has happened on the network and two different brands of laptops running different systems.
There must be others who have seen this error.
Alan

Author:  tannoo [ Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Where the graphic cards in those laptops the same chipset?

I am attempting to see what is going on in the "text" file. I believe is the raw C code.

I've able to play with a motor. And nothing is screwy there except for me. At this point in my knowledge with C, nothing will get done anytime soon.

I'm trying to learn this to help my grandkids. I am pushing this to them soon. I want to be able to help them.

Was roboc more stable in an earlier version that I can't seem to get?

Author:  JohnWatson [ Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Have you submitted a support ticket to us directly via support@robotc.net? If not, please do so with as much detailed information as possible; we are more than happy to look into this issue but will most likely need additional information (such as the status of the licenses in the 'Help -> Manage Licenses' menu in ROBOTC) in order to debug the issue further (our ticketing system tends to be the best avenue for that).

Thank you in advance!

Author:  tannoo [ Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

I have recieved an email from support that says they know about the issue and there is a fix coming by the end of the month.

Author:  tannoo [ Thu May 14, 2015 8:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Still nothing fixed.

Author:  kinnama [ Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

This week I attempted to teach two classes of sixth graders using RobotC and 4.30 with VEX IQ drive a bots.
The "ghosting" is a terrible problem that makes RobotC Graphical 4.3 unusable for any classroom setting.
Today students were so frustrated with not being able to get a simple program to work that I stopped work on coding and had students drive the robots with the controller. They had fun but my teaching of coding stopped. If there is not a fix for this soon, I may need to look at Modkit or Easy C.
Any help on the way??

Edit June 22.
Thank you for the work on the update. From reading the change logs for RobotC and VEX IQ it looks like things will run smoother next September when students are back in school. I will not have a chance to look at the new update until August.
Alan

Author:  JohnWatson [ Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

To update on this one: we have been on top of this issue since it was first reported and have finally been able to reproduce and debug the issue. This issue will be resolved in the next version of ROBOTC which we hope to have available as soon as possible (we are expecting this build to go live by the end of the week).

Thank you for your patience as we debugged this particular issue.

Author:  tannoo [ Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

I'm not holding my breath.

Author:  tannoo [ Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

There's an update!! 4.32

Author:  mightor [ Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Let us know if you're still running into this issue :)

Good thing you didn't have to hold your breath too long!

= Xander

Author:  tannoo [ Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC not holding values, or "ghosting" 4.30 Graphical

Well, I was sending the program to the robot then hit play and nothing happened. I had to send the program to the robot again... then it would play (run program).

I found that if I compiled the program first, then send the program over.. it will play the first time.

It is very slow to transfer even a very simple move command over bluetooth. I'm now on the lookout for Edimax support.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/