View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:34 pm






Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Compatable Microcontroller Question 
Author Message
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:39 am
Posts: 299
Location: San Diego, California. USA
Post Compatable Microcontroller Question
Hello Everyone!

Just got my arduino version downloaded and installed to give it a whirl and have afew questions. I do alot of avr stuff on a breadboard and no not actually own an official arduino board (i have my own boards fabed ;-)) and have some technical questions to ask:

* What are the memory requirements for the bootloader and firmware? I noticed that you use the arduino bootloader, but robotC also adds firmware to the memory space. How much space total would that require? I have alot of atmega168's lying around and was wondering if that would ever be possible.

* How exactly does robotC know what serial port the arduino is on? I noticed it does an autodetect for the board. Will robotC be able to find microcontrolers on a breadboard that communicate with a external usb to com port setup?

Thanks, talk to you all soon!
Scott B-)

_________________
Mmmm Legos B-)

My Robot Projects:
http://www.freewebs.com/robotprojects/


Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:20 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3223
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Compatable Microcontroller Question
starwarslegokid wrote:
What are the memory requirements for the bootloader and firmware? I noticed that you use the arduino bootloader, but robotC also adds firmware to the memory space. How much space total would that require? I have alot of atmega168's lying around and was wondering if that would ever be possible.

I believe it is around the 24K mark or so; the 168 is out.

Quote:
How exactly does robotC know what serial port the arduino is on? I noticed it does an autodetect for the board. Will robotC be able to find microcontrolers on a breadboard that communicate with a external usb to com port setup?

Windows doesn't treat devices on a hub any differently than connected directly. As for auto-detecting, it resets the port and checks for a signature from the bootloader, afaik. This is how it can tell. I also think you can actually specify the COM port to use but that doesn't work flawlessly with the Uno yet.

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:31 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:39 am
Posts: 299
Location: San Diego, California. USA
Post Re: Compatable Microcontroller Question
Thanks Mightor!

Looks like ill invest in a atmega328 very soon B-)

Scott

_________________
Mmmm Legos B-)

My Robot Projects:
http://www.freewebs.com/robotprojects/


Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:42 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.