View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:06 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Level Builder / virtual worlds suggested features 
Rookie

Post Level Builder / virtual worlds suggested features
Hi,

Starting a thread that others might like to add to in the hope that the developers might read and include ideas.

I'm a Teacher (from UK) and we've just brought 8 Vex IQ Clawbot super kits. The Robot's are fab in principle, but I'm getting frustrated by minor niggles with the RobotC and virtual worlds software that are making them very hard to use in an educational environment (which I thought was the whole point of this software!)

1) Firmware within RobotC - Why does this need to seemingly be updated repeatedly on the same robot? surely it should just need to be done the once? is this just me?! We have 20 PCs all running RobotC. The students obviously share the 8 robots amongst themselves while attempting the programming challenges I set them. For no good reason the robot will work on one PC, then when transferred to another PC, refuse to download the program until a firmware download/refresh is done. This is not very 'kid friendly' and causes a lot of wasted time in the lesson while they sit there confused until I can get to help them.

It's a good job I'm tech savvy as well, because this whole system has required much time spent updating firmware (with the vex IQ firmware updater) and plugging various sensors in and out of various ports because a colour sensor thought it was a gyro etc etc) - My Colleagues without technical backgrounds don't stand a chance.