View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:40 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
I need advice for mobile robot navigation 
Rookie

Post I need advice for mobile robot navigation
I just have finished doing a simulation by Matlab environment for navigation a mobile robot from its initial point to goal point without collide with any obstacles dependent on the Artificial Potential Field algorithm , and it is done successfully.
Now , I would like to do that practically and I'm new to this "world" , I have built my robot with two motors and ultrasonic sensors , but the hardest part which I faced is which components should I have to get the current position (i.e. (x,y)) and the orientation (i.e. Azimuth) of mobile robot , so what is the simple approach and simple components for this task , please give me the simple solution because I am novice and I have no enough time, it is just one month and I should finish that . I would be very much appreciate any help.

thanks

Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:22 pm
Expert

Post Re: I need advice for mobile robot navigation
For orientation, you can use a gyro sensor. It gives you the speed at which the robots turning, which you can multiply by time to determine how far it has turned. You can accumulate the turn amounts in a variable to keep track of orientation. Alternatively, you can use a compass sensor for orientation. For keeping track of X and Y, I don't know of any sensor that will help you with that. I think you'll have to track straight line distance using encoders, then use the orientation and some trigonometry to determine how far it is travelling in X, Y coordinates.

Check out our team website at http://cof7468.weebly.com/.

Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:59 am
Rookie