ROBOTC.net forums
http://www.robotc.net/forums/

Motors and Sensors Setup ?
http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=2621
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Eric [ Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:58 am ]
Post subject:  Motors and Sensors Setup ?

In the "motors and senors setup" you can specify "motor equipped" or "servo style motor". We accidentally used "motor equipped" for a servo and it works. Should we be using "servo style motor"? How do these two setup types differ? Specifically can we damage a servo or regular motor if we use the wrong type? Will the performance of the motor change?

Thanks
Eric

Author:  jbflot [ Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup ?

Hi Eric -

Currently there is no functional difference, so no harm can be done to you hardware. There's no change in performance.

One of our future plans is to implement PID control for the driving motors on your robot - eliminating things like drift and shorter movements as the battery drains. This feature will only be available with motors (hence the two options currently available).

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/