ROBOTC.net forums
http://www.robotc.net/forums/

Motors and Sensors Setup Question
http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=4160
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Gondorf5 [ Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Motors and Sensors Setup Question

Hello, I'm very good at ROBOTC yet, so this question probably has a very simplistic answer.

If you read the topic header, you'd have guessed that we may be having issues setting up our motors and sensors.
Our robot has a basic control design that contains a total of 4 motors that need to be set up to our Tele-op program.
How would we set up the four motors on the Motors and Sensors Setup menu?

Currently, I have the motors set up as follows:

[img]C:\Users\Ty\Desktop\New%20Bitmap%20Image[/img]

As of right now, we're not entirely sure it's a problem.

Thanks in advance!

--Gondorf5--

Author:  magicode [ Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

I do not think that you have linked properly to the image,, so we cannot tell what is going on. I'm just guessing at what the problem might be though, and have you set the platform to "LEGO Mindstorms NXT + Tetrix" in the Robot menu?

Author:  Gondorf5 [ Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

Oops I didn't realize I had a picture fail

No, I have my platform set up to NXT + TETRIX

I'll just list what my setup says right now:

motorA collect_motor
motorB basket_motor
motorC
mtr_S1_C1_1 motorD
mtr_S1_C1_1 motorE

the code is set up to run motorA and motorB as collect_motor and basket_motor.

Author:  magicode [ Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

I'm sorry, I don't understand what your question is. What exactly are you having problems with?

Author:  Gondorf5 [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

We have a robot. It has 4 motors:

2 motors are the wheel motors
two other motors run our robot's gaming functions (moving arms, etc.)

If motors are set up to the four areas mentioned above in ROBOTC's "Motors and Sensor Setup," would the programming for those motors still function as normal?

It seems a little vague, I'm having issues hooking up my NXTSamantha to the FCS. :-(

Author:  Gondorf5 [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

Basically, one of my questions is does it matter where I plug in the cord into the NXT with the setup above?

Author:  magicode [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

For the NXT motors, you need to use the A, B, and C slots at the top of the brick. With your current setup, you need to plug in the motor controller into sensor port 1 at the bottom of the brick. And yes, the tetrix motors can be controlled the same way ax the NXT motors, but you need to install encoders on the DC motors to use the built in PID functions, and a few functions have different names.

Author:  Gondorf5 [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

Dude, thanks a lot! You have no idea how long this has been screwing us over. Confirmation, for my other two motors I would need separate cords to go into the NXT, right?

Author:  magicode [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Motors and Sensors Setup Question

Glad I could help. And yes, each NXT motor needs a separate motor port.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/