View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:34 pm






Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
Hi,

I just got the Hitechnic Prototype Board, and for some reason none of the digital outputs or analogue inputs work. I am trying the first experiment in the HiTechnic SuperPro Experimenters Kit Handbook.

I am using RobotC, and when I run Xander's program made for the first experiment ( the program that is part of his driver suite ), the NXT displays a value of -1 for port A0. I have checked the circuit multiple times, and everything is as it is supposed to be for the experiment.

Here is the code from the program:
Code:
#pragma config(Sensor, S1,     HTPB,                sensorI2CCustom9V)
//*!!Code automatically generated by 'ROBOTC' configuration wizard               !!*//

/*
 * $Id: hitechnic-protoboard-exp1.c 133 2013-03-10 15:15:38Z xander $
 */

/**
 * hitechnic-protoboard.h provides an API for the HiTechnic Protoboard.  This is program 1
 * for the HTPB experimenter's kit.
 *
 * Changelog:
 * - 0.1: Initial release
 * - 0.2: Removed common.h from includes
 *
 * Credits:
 * - Big thanks to HiTechnic for providing me with the hardware necessary to write and test this.
 *
 * License: You may use this code as you wish, provided you give credit where it's due.
 *
 * THIS CODE WILL ONLY WORK WITH ROBOTC VERSION 3.59 AND HIGHER.
 * Xander Soldaat (xander_at_botbench.com)
 * 14 February 2011
 * version 0.2
 */

#include "drivers/hitechnic-protoboard.h"

task main() {
  // Local variables
  int inputdata;

  // The data to be written: 0x3F = 111111 binary,
  // makes all digital ports outputs.
  HTPBsetupIO(HTPB, 0x3F);

  while(true) {
    // Read a 10bit wide analogue value from A0
    inputdata = HTPBreadADC(HTPB, 0, 10);
    eraseDisplay();
    nxtDisplayTextLine(1, "%d", inputdata);

    // If A0 is less than 50% of the max value
    // turn off the LED, otherwise switch it on
    if(inputdata < 512)
      HTPBwriteIO(HTPB, 0x00);
    else
      HTPBwriteIO(HTPB, 0x01);

    wait1Msec(50);
  }
}

/*
 * $Id: hitechnic-protoboard-exp1.c 133 2013-03-10 15:15:38Z xander $
 */


Any ideas as to why this is happening?


Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:40 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
Hi there,

Which version of ROBOTC are you using? It should be 4.28, if not, get it here: http://www.robotc.net/blog/2014/12/23/r ... 4-28-beta/
Did you download the latest version of the Driver Suite from the Git repo? If not, get it here: https://github.com/botbench/robotcdriversuite

Thanks!

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:46 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
I am using the newest version of RobotC 3.6X and not the newest version of the git repo. I will update the repo and try again, thanks!

Thanks,
Vale


Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:48 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
I am sorry, but I am no longer actively supporting ROBOTC 3.x for my Driver Suite. You should use the latest release version of the Driver Suite, which you can get here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/rdparty ... rs/V3.3.1/. It is the last known-to-be-working release of the suite that works with ROBOTC 3.x.

I have converted most of my code to ROBOTC 4.x, any bug fixes that have happened between 3.3.1 and what's in Github now will not be included.

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:53 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
I just updated robotc to version 4.17 and I got the new driver suite, but the issue still persists. I am getting a value of -1 on the NXT screen.

Also, I am unable to turn on a digital port. If I make the port the LED is on turn on ( B0 ), the LED still doesn't light up. I know I am getting power though because when I connect the resistor in front of the LED to 3.3V, the LED lights up.

Is this a common problem?

Thanks,
Vale


Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:07 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
4.17 is not the latest version of ROBOTC. Is there a reason you're not using ROBOTC 4.28? You can download that here: http://www.robotc.net/blog/2014/12/23/r ... 4-28-beta/

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:53 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
Sorry, I have now updated to RobotC 4.28 Beta. Sadly though, the problem is still there.


Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:22 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
So, after a lot more fiddling around, I got the super pro board to work with SPC ( Super-Pro C ).

Still not working with RobotC 4.28 though........


Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:21 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:29 am
Posts: 6
Post Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
Anyone have any ideas?

I still cannot get it to work with RobotC, but SPC seems to work. Support is limited though and SPC cannot be used in the FTC competition, so it is not that useful to me......

Thanks,
Vale


Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:33 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.