ROBOTC.net forums
http://www.robotc.net/forums/

Shaft encoder wiring - 2 wire encoder
http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=13255
Page 1 of 1

Author:  itsallgood [ Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:00 am ]
Post subject:  Shaft encoder wiring - 2 wire encoder

Hello Forumers - I have a 12VDC motor with "built-in" encoder. The motor has a 2 wire connection, and runs both directions fine.
The encoder also has a 2 wire connection, but I have no idea how to wire it. It probably requires some external circuit, but the closest example found uses a 3 wire connection to the encoder. I have even tried using the case as ground to make a "3rd" connection. The motor didn't come with any schematics or specifications. Searches have drawn a blank - so maybe someone here can help.
The motor and encoder are to be operated by an Arduino.
Cheers
(pics attached - encoder cap prised apart from motor body)

Attachment:
MotorEncoderSide.jpeg
MotorEncoderSide.jpeg [ 71.63 KiB | Viewed 8298 times ]


Attachment:
MotorEncoderEnd.jpeg
MotorEncoderEnd.jpeg [ 79.91 KiB | Viewed 8298 times ]

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/