View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:31 am






Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Motors set to run at full power, but dont 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:05 am
Posts: 16
Post Motors set to run at full power, but dont
A couple of my students robots are programmed to run at full power (and yes, the batteries are fully charged), but when the program is executed, the motors either slowly run, and then stop, or when they run the same program again, the motors dont run at all. We have tried replacing both motors, and even replaced the battery pack...any ideas?

BG


Sat Sep 24, 2011 10:48 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:19 pm
Posts: 15
Post Re: Motors set to run at full power, but dont
What are you attempting to do with the motors?

_________________
Member of the Sarah Heinz House VEX and FIRST teams.


Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:50 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:50 pm
Posts: 70
Post Re: Motors set to run at full power, but dont
Hi bgrigsby,

Please post your code, it will be much easier for everyone to help you.

_________________
Bence Feher

Undergraduate Intern - NREC, Robotics Academy
ROBOTC - Testing/Documentation/Developer

Computer Science, Japanese, East Asian Studies
University of Pittsburgh, Konan University 甲南大学


Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:11 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:05 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Motors set to run at full power, but dont
Here is the code:

task main ()
{
motor[port3] = 127
motor[port2] = 127
wait1msec(3000)
}

The students are working through the Labyrinth challenge. It works slowly the first time, then it stops working altogether...I know the batteries are charged..


Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:19 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:50 pm
Posts: 70
Post Re: Motors set to run at full power, but dont
Hmmm that code is too simple to have any mistakes in it. Perhaps you should update both the VEX Master firmware and the ROBOTC firmware? If that doesn't fix it, I'd ask the folks at IFI, that seems to be a malfunctioning cortex rather than ROBOTC.

To update both firmwares, go to Robot >> Download Firmware, and choose the latest version from there.


I hope that helps,

_________________
Bence Feher

Undergraduate Intern - NREC, Robotics Academy
ROBOTC - Testing/Documentation/Developer

Computer Science, Japanese, East Asian Studies
University of Pittsburgh, Konan University 甲南大学


Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:39 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 9:02 am
Posts: 405
Post Re: Motors set to run at full power, but dont
Also make sure that you're not plugging 2-wire motors directly into 3-wire motor ports. Make sure you're using a Motor Controller 29 cable as an intermediary.

_________________
Jesse Flot
CMU Robotics Academy
ROBOTC Support


Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:24 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.