View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:24 pm

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Noob joystick control question 
Rookie

Post Noob joystick control question
Hello all,

I'm a programmer for an FTC team this year. This is our FTC teams first year, however this isn't my first time programming, as our FTC team is an off-shoot of FRC team Sparky 384, of whom I am the head programmer for.

My question is thus: I have a lot of experience programming in c and c++, however I cannot find example joystick control code anywhere, and any tutorials I see do not seem to work for me. I write this:
Code:
#pragma config(Hubs,  S4, HTMotor,  none,     none,     none)
#pragma config(Motor,  mtr_S4_C1_1,     leftDrive,     tmotorTetrix, openLoop, driveLeft)
#pragma config(Motor,  mtr_S4_C1_2,     rightDrive,    tmotorTetrix, openLoop, driveRight)
//*!!Code automatically generated by 'ROBOTC' configuration wizard               !!*//

#include "JoystickDriver.c"

void initializeRobot () {

}

task main()
 {
  initializeRobot();

//waitForStart();
   while(true)
     {
      //User Control code goes here.
     getJoystickSettings(joystick);
     //motor[leftDrive] = joystick.joy1_y1;
     //motor[rightDrive] = -joystick.joy1_y2;
     motor[leftDrive] = 75;
     motor[rightDrive] = -75;
     }
 }

and this works. However, when I comment out the 75 lines and recomment in the two joystick lines, I cannot control the robot with the joystick. I have selected joystick control basic and checked that the game controller (logitech gamepad F310) is in fact being seen as joystick 1, and the joystick does give proper input when I move it around. However, when I run joystick code and move the joystick the robot stays completely stationary.

Does anyone have any advice? I know for to get the external motor controllers to work I had to turn that on. Is there any other setting that I am missing to get the joystick values to the robot?