View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 9:11 am






Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
I2C sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates sensor type 
Author Message
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3196
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post I2C sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates sensor type
Hey developers, this one's for you.

What exactly does the sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates imply? Does it simply not update nI2CStatus ? I am looking to push my MAX127 ADC to the, err, MAX. With my driver I get the following results:

Normal: 143 ADC readings per second (sensorI2CCustom)
Faster: 333 ADC readings per second (sensorI2CCustomFast)
Fastest: 500 ADC readings per second. (sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates)

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:58 am
Profile WWW
Creator
Creator

Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:21 am
Posts: 615
Post Re: I2C sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates sensor type
I've already answered this via private communications with Xander.

ROBOTC has three speeds of I2C messages.
  1. Standard speed is for compatability with LEGO's Ultrasonic sensor and AFAIK is the only speed available in any of the other NXT firmwares.
  2. Fast is about 2.5 times faster. This is achieved using a faster clock for I2C messages and for shrinking the sizes of some of the pulses.
  3. Skip states eliminates some wait states that are required by the Ultrasonic sensor and one of the 3rd party sensors. This is slightly faster again.
    In general, 3rd party sensors can use the fastest speed.


Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:45 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3196
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: I2C sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates sensor type
Also, as of RobotC 1.43B1, the above mentioned speeds now also have their 9V counterpart, so you can use it with your HiTechnic ProtoBoard. Note that HT does not officially support this speed, though.

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:18 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.