View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:13 am






Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
new activation after update 1.38 -> 1.40? WHY? 
Author Message
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post new activation after update 1.38 -> 1.40? WHY?
I deinstalled my older 1.38 and installed 1.40 RC3.

Why do I have to activate again ??

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:33 am
Profile
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:51 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hungary, Europe
Post Re: new activation after update 1.38 -> 1.40? WHY?
Imagine you are testing a trial version of 1.38B.

One day left from trial when 1.40RC3 appears.

You download 1.40RC3 and start testing bugfixes and features, when, after one day, trial period expires.

It seems to me RobotC designers wanted to provide trial users with a "new" 30 day trial period on such a way that 1.40RC3 does not care for the installation information from previous versions. I had to re-register, too, but It was not very complicated to find the original mail with the activation code and re-enter the requested data.

Or maybe I am just too lazy and prefer waiting for others to drive the evolution.


Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:57 pm
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post 
I'm NOT "testing" 1.38!

I had purchased 1.10
I had updated to 1.22...1.38 (because of lots of bugs)
and now
I wanted to update to 1.40.

What they do with 30 days trial versions is nothing to me.
I have an activated full version.

Thanks for your post, further replies (of the developers or the sales) are appreciated!

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:06 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:48 am
Posts: 19
Location: Germany
Post 
Actually, its a release candidate, no final version. Providing this as test-version makes sense. Maybe the final-version will retain registration data.
Anyway, I don't see the point. Is it in any way a problem to just re-enter the data? Having free updates is a big advantage from my point of view. Not every company is providing such service (e.g. I've read the NXT-G 1.1 update had to be paid). Every time I make a firmware upgrade on my cell phone I have to setup everything again, too. But that is just a reason to be happy to have new features, not to complain.
Don't be offended, that's just my opinion. :)


Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:13 am
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post 
there was the same problem updating from my final activated version (1.10) to any beta, but there was no problem from 1.05 to 1.10.

But actually there's no difference to me if it's a "release candidate" or a "beta" or a "final" version, any most actual version is simply needed if the current version(s) is/was/were always working faulty.

It's just annoying if you have to search your registration documents each time, and meanwhile it has been about 10 times that I had to enter ID and password, starting with 1.17, then 1.18., 1.20, 1.22, .......1,38, 1.40...
And upon that, each time after deinstalling, downloading, re-installing, firmware updating, re-registering, there always were old and new bugs again which could be found, and in the end all these procedures have been wasted efforts - :
sometimes it's hard not to panic... :evil:

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:57 am
Profile
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:51 am
Posts: 121
Location: Hungary, Europe
Post 
have a towel :-)


Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:07 am
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post 
:D

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:09 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:39 am
Posts: 299
Location: San Diego, California. USA
Post 
Elemes hit it on the head, the creators wanted to give people a chance to use the trial again, and that is by reseting the liscence. No worries, your original liscence will still work and you have all your activations again. Relax B-)

Scott

_________________
Mmmm Legos B-)

My Robot Projects:
http://www.freewebs.com/robotprojects/


Sat Jul 26, 2008 2:04 am
Profile WWW
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post 
hi,
thx for this, I understand this is an advantage for non-customers (testers), but it's quite an effort for customers with purchased versions.

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:25 am
Profile
Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 116
Post 
Hi all,

this also works for me Ford Perfect...

I got many OS on my laptop, and i am allways formating it, so it's usual for me the need of re-activating the licence...

I also tested some of that versions, so when the public final version will appear, i will also need a restart of the count of my key...

MeanWhile, i would also buy another one...

_________________
http://www.apcsguarda.com
My Project: http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=712


Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:37 am
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1030
Post 
docilio wrote:
I got many OS on my laptop, and i am allways formating it

sounds very strange...
But at a re-installing there is nothing to say against it.

I stand by my opinion.
If you once had entered your activation key, there must not be a need to repeat this in every case of an update.

_________________
regards,
HaWe aka Ford
#define S sqrt(t+2*i*i)<2
#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}


Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:50 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.