View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:33 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Array as function parameter? 
Rookie

Post Array as function parameter?
Hi,

I need matrix functions for a bachelor thesis concerning special calculations on a NXT. As I couldn't find any RobotC headers for matrix funtions in the web, I decided to write my own one. However, I didn't find a solution to use arrays as function parameters. Every time I get an error message.

Is there any method to pass an array to a function?

Perhaps I could use the pointer of the array and cast it afterwards but I don't know how to do it in RobotC.
I'm an experienced programmer, so please tell me whatever ideas you have no matter how complex they are.
Thank you.

P.S.: In previous articles some of you sugested to wrap the array in a struct-statement. The problem with this way is that you have to define a specific array size.

Thu May 29, 2008 10:36 am
Guru

I got an idea by defining a structure containing an array, but I don't know if it's the ultimate way, and I still have not tested the code.
Maybe there will be a much easier way...

Code:
typedef struct {
 int value[3];} tArray;

void array_test(tArray &t) {
   int j;

for (j=0;j<3;j++) {t.value[j]=j+1;}
 }

task main() {
  tArray myArray;
  int i;

eraseDisplay();

for (i=0;i<3;i++) {
   myArray.value[i]=0;
   nxtDisplayTextLine(i, "%3d",myArray.value[i]);
  }

array_test(myArray);

for (i=0;i<3;i++) {
   nxtDisplayTextLine(i+4, "%3d",myArray.value[i]);
  }
  while (true) {;} // pause
}

#define F(a,b) for(a=0;a<b;++a)
float x,y,r,i,s,j,t,n;task main(){F(y,64){F(x,99){r=i=t=0;s=x/33-2;j=y/32-1;F(n,50&S){t=r*r-i*i;i=2*r*i+j;r=t+s;}if(S){PutPixel(x,y);}}}while(1)}

Last edited by Ford Prefect on Thu May 29, 2008 2:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thu May 29, 2008 11:17 am
Rookie