View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:47 am






Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Robotc multiple instance with windows 7 
Author Message
Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 50
Post Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
Hi,

Is it possible to run multiple instance of robotC 3.60 on windows 7? I need to use to instances of robotc at the same time to debug RS485 communication... Before the 3.60 it was possible.

Thanks for your answers

THibaud

_________________
My Eurobot team website :
http://blog.mlrobotic.com/


My MOCs :
http://nxtgen.6mablog.com


Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:19 pm
Profile WWW
Senior Roboticist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:13 pm
Posts: 630
Location: If I told you, I'd have to kill you.
Post Re: Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
I have used multiple instances in the past to great success, with Windows 8, but have not had occasion to do so as of yet with the new updates. I'll try it sometime and see what happens.

_________________
A.K.A. inxt-generation
Self-proclaimed genius, and future world dominator.
My Brickshelf Folder
"Don't they teach recreational mathematics anymore?" - The Tenth Doctor
Bow down to Nikola Tesla, King of the Geek Gods.


Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:07 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3223
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
I am not sure that ability to run multiple instances still exists in 3.60. That has to do with the .rbc file extension support they added. I will ask the devs if there's a way to re-enable it.

I would suggest as a work-around that you stop creating bugs in your software so there's no need to debug :)

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:31 am
Profile WWW
Senior Roboticist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:13 pm
Posts: 630
Location: If I told you, I'd have to kill you.
Post Re: Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
The only reason I've ever needed to run multiple instances was to not have to swap NXT connections, not debugging. It's a heck of a lot easier to just switch windows instead of USB cables.

_________________
A.K.A. inxt-generation
Self-proclaimed genius, and future world dominator.
My Brickshelf Folder
"Don't they teach recreational mathematics anymore?" - The Tenth Doctor
Bow down to Nikola Tesla, King of the Geek Gods.


Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:54 am
Profile WWW
Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 50
Post Re: Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
mightor wrote:

I would suggest as a work-around that you stop creating bugs in your software so there's no need to debug :)



I like your answer :D my boss tell me the same thing lol.

In my case the multiple instances allow me to run step by step two programs who communicate with RS485.

An other thing could be usefull is a simple combobox in the tool bar to change quickly between two NXTBrick connected in USB.

_________________
My Eurobot team website :
http://blog.mlrobotic.com/


My MOCs :
http://nxtgen.6mablog.com


Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:11 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3223
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Robotc multiple instance with windows 7
Thibaud wrote:
An other thing could be usefull is a simple combobox in the tool bar to change quickly between two NXTBrick connected in USB.

Hah! I asked for just that thing ages ago :) Hasn't been implemented yet, but thanks for reminding me. I'll ping them again about it!

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:22 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.