ROBOTC.net forums
http://www.robotc.net/forums/

remote control
http://www.robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5116
Page 2 of 3

Author:  royalthemaster [ Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

okay so problem...all lights on smantha modual are blinking all of a sudden, we dont know whats going on and its freaking me out!

Author:  MHTS [ Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

If you haven't seen this already. Here is the Samantha LED guide.
https://sites.google.com/site/ftcsamoledcodes/

Author:  royalthemaster [ Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

now the samantha wont even recignize that there r wifi networks available, is it possible to make it so i can see and choose which networks it is trying to connect to? and if so how?

Author:  MHTS [ Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

The Samantha module must be pre-configured with the SSID and Passcode for it to connect to the WiFi network. You preconfigure the Samantha network with the Samantha Network Configuration tool.
http://www.usfirst.org/sites/default/fi ... _Teams.pdf
This is done on your laptop with a USB flash drive. You run the samocfg.exe tool, enter the SSID and passcode. It will generate the network configuration file to your USB flash drive. Then you insert the flash drive to the Samantha module following the instructions described in the above doc. There is no UI allowing you to preview the available wireless networks and pick one.

Author:  royalthemaster [ Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

the only reason we arnt able to do this is probally because of the fricken wifi stuff...so i wil try ot reset and go through all the steps in setting this up and see if that helps, also how do i make it so the wheels go as fast as how i want them to...rather than start and stop at full power?

Author:  MHTS [ Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

royalthemaster wrote:
also how do i make it so the wheels go as fast as how i want them to...rather than start and stop at full power?

I don't understand your question. Do you mean you want a gentler start and stop? Are you talking about teleop or autonomous? Please explain your question.

Author:  royalthemaster [ Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

1. i am talking about tele-op, when i move the joysticks alittle bit its just immediate start and then immediate stop when i move joysticks back.
2. how do i move lets say, and arm on port A agian on tele-op?
3. okay, i figuerd out that the robot is trying to connect to the school guest network instead of the network we use for the cisco router, so how do i change which wifi signal the samantha is trying to connect to?

(sorry about this msg being multiple questions <.>

Author:  MHTS [ Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

royalthemaster wrote:
1. i am talking about tele-op, when i move the joysticks alittle bit its just immediate start and then immediate stop when i move joysticks back.

This depends on how your code is using the joystick value to program the motors. Please post your code so we can help you figure out why.
royalthemaster wrote:
2. how do i move lets say, and arm on port A agian on tele-op?

Again, there is not enough information in your question. Are you trying to have some controls on your game controller to move the arm? If so, what is it? A stick, a button? What do you want the behavior be?
royalthemaster wrote:
3. okay, i figuerd out that the robot is trying to connect to the school guest network instead of the network we use for the cisco router, so how do i change which wifi signal the samantha is trying to connect to?

Like I said, the document from the link below describes how you run samocfg.exe to specify what wireless network your Samantha should connect to and to provide the network passcode. Please read the doc.
http://www.usfirst.org/sites/default/fi ... _Teams.pdf

Author:  MHTS [ Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

royalthemaster wrote:
2. how do i move lets say, and arm on port A agian on tele-op?

I have posted some code on this thread that might help you.
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=5184

Author:  royalthemaster [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

okay here is a ruff copy of the code, as far as i can tell the only difference between the 2 is the motor/sensor config stuff:
Code:
 
#include "JoystickDriver.c"   
task main()
{
 while(true)
  {
    getJoystickSettings(joystick);     // Update Buttons and Joysticks (<-- IDK how to do this)
    motor[motorC] = joystick.joy1_y1;
    motor[motorB] = joystick.joy1_y2;

Author:  MHTS [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

royalthemaster wrote:
okay here is a ruff copy of the code, as far as i can tell the only difference between the 2 is the motor/sensor config stuff:
Code:
 
#include "JoystickDriver.c"   
task main()
{
 while(true)
  {
    getJoystickSettings(joystick);     // Update Buttons and Joysticks (<-- IDK how to do this)
    motor[motorC] = joystick.joy1_y1;
    motor[motorB] = joystick.joy1_y2;

So what's your question? BTW, the code you posted was incomplete.

Author:  royalthemaster [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

my question is, how to make the robots arm move (or what that code would look like) using a motor to move the arm

Author:  MHTS [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

royalthemaster wrote:
my question is, how to make the robots arm move (or what that code would look like) using a motor to move the arm

Did you look at the thread on the sample code I posted?
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=5184

Author:  royalthemaster [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

if you mean about the encoder thing then ya i did and it didnt help at all...
i defintly dont understand this
Code:
#define DEADBAND_THRESHOLD 15
#define DEADBAND(x) ((abs(x) >= DEADBAND_THRESHOLD)? x: 0)
#define BOUND(x) (((x) > 100)? 100: ((x) < -100)? -100: (x))
#define JOYSTICK_POWER(x) (BOUND(DEADBAND(x)))

#define ARM_MIN_ANGLE 0
#define ARM_MAX_ANGLE 180


Author:  MHTS [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: remote control

You have to ask more specific question. "The code didn't help" does not tell me anything. Do you have an encoder on your arm motor. If you don't and you just want to use the joystick to control the arm without regard on any limits on the arm swing, then you could simplify the code:
Code:
#define DEADBAND_THRESHOLD 15
#define DEADBAND(x) ((abs(x) >= DEADBAND_THRESHOLD)? x: 0)
#define BOUND(x) (((x) > 100)? 100: ((x) < -100)? -100: (x))
#define JOYSTICK_POWER(x) (BOUND(DEADBAND(x)))

task main()
{
    while (true)
    {
        //
        // Get joystick readings.
        //
        getJoystickSettings(joystick);

        //
        // Translate controller 2 right stick x axis value to within motor power range (-100 to 100) and with deadband.
        //
        motor[armRotMotor] = JOYSTICK_POWER(joystick.joy2_x1)/3;
        wait1Msec(100);
    }
}

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/