View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:54 pm

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
How to use PID Control so that robot follows line smoothly 
Rookie

Post How to use PID Control so that robot follows line smoothly
Hello.

Newbie here.

My robot has got only one light sensor (reflected light) to read in lightest & darkest values and calculate a threshold and move left and right according to the threshold. The robot moves in a zig zag pattern and I want to make it smoother. I saw people on post talking about PID control and I researched for it.

My 1st question is you just simply add these lines? Say my motor variables are 'motorA' for left and 'motorC' for right.

nMotorPIDSpeedCtrl[motorA] = mtrSpeedReg;
nMotorPIDSpeedCtrl[motorC] = mtrSpeedReg;

I mean just like that? Seems too good to be true and yeah I know I could just test the code but I don't own any robot. Only able to test it at school lab.

Hope to be replies a.s.a.p
Many thanks!

Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:00 pm
Rookie

Post Re: How to use PID Control so that robot follows line smooth
And I'm talking about RobotC please no other languages.

Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:01 pm
Guru

To make the robot follow the line smoothly, you need to be able to tune PID. I am not familiar with the RobotC built-in PID control but I do not believe you can make use of built-in PID for that. Refer to the following post for an example on how to implement PID control for line following:
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=4973&p=20864&hilit=+PID+follow#p20864

Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:51 pm
Rookie

half_pirate wrote:
Hello.

Newbie here.

My robot has got only one light sensor (reflected light) to read in lightest & darkest values and calculate a threshold and move left and right according to the threshold. The robot moves in a zig zag pattern and I want to make it smoother. I saw people on post talking about PID control and I researched for it.