View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:06 pm






Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine. 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:33 pm
Posts: 6
Post Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
Hey there!

Has anybody had any luck using Wine (or any program based on it, like PlayOnMac) to run RobotC for Mindstorms on a Unix-based platform? Almost all of our dev team have Macs, and it's a major hindrance to our work to be restricted to working on the odd Windows-based computer that we can get access to.

Thanks so much for your advice!
Cheers,
Alex


Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:55 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3227
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
You could use VirtualBox on both the Linux and Mac machines and run Windows in there. VMWare Player works very nicely as well, but only on Linux (and Windows).

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:06 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:33 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
Hi Xander,

Thanks again for the reply. I've considered both of those options (as well as Boot Camp) and the main issue we run in to there is the requirement to purchase lots of expensive Windows licenses, as well as the considerable time cost of starting a virtual machine or rebooting every time someone wants to add a line of code.

Which is why I had high hopes for Wine...although with the advanced USB communication requirements of RobotC I don't know how well that would work out.

Cheers,
Alex


Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:15 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3227
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
Boot time is negligible if you just suspend the virtual machine, you're talking about 10-20 seconds max.

If your time is free then spending hours upon hours trying to make ROBOTC work in Wine might be an idea, if your time is valuable, then spending a bit of money on a Windows license may not be such a bad investment :) Cost is very relative.

Alternatively, set up a Windows box and use PC Anywhere or some other form of Terminal Service such as VNC or RDP.

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:09 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:43 am
Posts: 47
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
ialex.ryan wrote:
Hi Xander,

Thanks again for the reply. I've considered both of those options (as well as Boot Camp) and the main issue we run in to there is the requirement to purchase lots of expensive Windows licenses, as well as the considerable time cost of starting a virtual machine or rebooting every time someone wants to add a line of code.

Which is why I had high hopes for Wine...although with the advanced USB communication requirements of RobotC I don't know how well that would work out.

Cheers,
Alex


I couldn't get Virtual Box to run so well on my Mac, but VMWare Fusion runs no problem. Still going to cost you, but I got a new version of Fusion recently with 20% using 'ws9beta20' but I just checked and it is only valid till Sep 14th. I've been playing with Win 8 and I saw an article the other day that MS will be offering upgrades from as far back as XP for about £40/license. I got my original XP license from ebay, some form of OEM, seemed legit. Still about £70/user though.


Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:15 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:43 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
Been trying to get RobotC to work, so far I can load the application and create/edit code, but I can't download it onto my robot. I suspect this is because Wine lacks USB driver support. I just write the code on a Mac, then transfer it to a pc to download it when i'm finished.

-Leo


Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:46 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:33 pm
Posts: 6
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
tunasushi wrote:
because Wine lacks USB driver support. I just write the code on a Mac, then transfer it to a pc to download it when i'm finished.


That's the same conclusion that I've come to. The system as we have it now is to just write code wherever, in whatever text editor, and then copy it to a PC and use RobotC to download the code to the NXT brick. Github actually works really well for this sort of collaborative syncing, as we're finding.

-Alex


Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:57 pm
Profile
Senior Roboticist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:13 pm
Posts: 630
Location: If I told you, I'd have to kill you.
Post Re: Running RobotC on Mac or Linux using Wine.
Question: Why don't you just write the code on the PC since you have one?

_________________
A.K.A. inxt-generation
Self-proclaimed genius, and future world dominator.
My Brickshelf Folder
"Don't they teach recreational mathematics anymore?" - The Tenth Doctor
Bow down to Nikola Tesla, King of the Geek Gods.


Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:04 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.