View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:12 am






Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Minimum distance of MindSensors IR sensor? 
Author Message
Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:04 am
Posts: 70
Location: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Post Minimum distance of MindSensors IR sensor?
Hello,
I am getting strange results with the MindSensors IR distance sensor. The minimum distance should be 30 mm. As my sensor moves closer to a surface, after about 170 mm the readings start going up.
At an actual distance of 50 mm the reading is about 340.
Using the sample program MSDIST-test1 gave exactly the same results as my program.
This is MindSensors long range IR sensor (2Y0A02). It's nominal range is from 30 to 1500 mm.
RobotC 3.04
MSDIST-test1 from the latest driver suite. File dated: 2011-09-06 13:52:43

Anyone else experience this?
Thanks for any help,
Dave

_________________
Dad (Dave) and Adam


Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:18 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Minimum distance of MindSensors IR sensor?
This page here: [LINK] specifies a range of 20-150 cms, which is also what I found in another datasheet.

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:26 pm
Profile WWW
Novice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:04 am
Posts: 70
Location: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Post Re: Minimum distance of MindSensors IR sensor?
Oops, my mistake. I took cm as mm when looking at the documentation.
All is working normally then -except for me. :)

Dave

_________________
Dad (Dave) and Adam


Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:18 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Minimum distance of MindSensors IR sensor?
Quote:
All is working normally then -except for me.

Perhaps a firmware upgrade will fix that? :)

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:24 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.