View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 8:15 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Stacking multiple sensors on one port 
Novice

Post Stacking multiple sensors on one port
I found this on the info file associated with the mindsensors compass.

Quote:
Supports Auto Detecting Parallel Architecture (ADPA) for
sensors. This means that CMPS-Nx can coexist with LEGO or
third party digital sensors on a single NXT port. This enables
user to employ several sensors on the same port without the
need of external sensor multiplexer, reducing the overall size
and cost.

How is this done? Do you need to program it into your driver? Is it overly complex? What do you need to do it? Can you only combine it with a digital sensor such as a touch sensor?

Any info on this topic would be appreciated!

Thanks
James

Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:02 am

Mindsensors is developing some amazing sensors using the I2C protocol. I'm no expert by far lol and anyone correct me if im wrong.

Whats going on is the NXT sends digital messages that contains a address in each message. Each computer chip or sensor has a address saved in its registry and when it reads a message with the same address, it completes the commanded action. These addresses can be changed on the sensors registry and can all be hooked in parallel on the same port since each one has a different address.

I have a few of there sensors and the default address of the sensors is 0x02 but can be changed using there Utility Program that runs on Robot C. The other thing you must do is change the address that is in your code to match the new adress on your chip. Mindsensors sample code has a variable for the address and its easy to change. Also, you have to send a message to your sensor to turn ADPA on, otherwise you will cause communication problems due to some sort of electrical resistance problem with multiple sensors hooked up (I don't fully understand this part lol sorry).